Pinhole Movie Reviews


One Minute Movie Reviews by tincolor
November 20, 2011, 12:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

This is a site of one minute movie reviews. It is designed for people who need ideas for something to watch. Movies are reviewed on a scale of how recommendable they are. See the rating system for more details.

 



Edge of Tomorrow by William
November 17, 2019, 6:55 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Tom Cruise is a soldier who keeps on getting killed in the same battle, over and over, in a futuristic sci-fi version of Groundhog Day. I do remember when this movie was released, although weirdly the marketing plan involved keeping people totally in the dark as to the basic premise of the film. It is, in fact, not nearly as bland as the title suggests, and Tom Cruise and Emily Blount are very enjoyable actors to spend a couple of hours with.  Surprisingly Worth Watching.

Rotten Tomatoes: 90%

https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/live_die_repeat_edge_of_tomorrow

The male and female leads, wearing battle armor, holding large guns, and looking battle-worn, stand against an urban background devastated by war. The sky is golden, meteors are falling, and Nelson's Column can be seen in the background.



Shazam! by William
April 21, 2019, 11:10 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Big meets Superman! A kid gets superpowers that transform him into the adult superhero Shazam, resulting in some hilarious kid-style hi-jinks to go along with the standard “fight the bad guy” story. With just one hero and one villain, this movie provides a much-needed break from the complicated forty-superhero extravaganzas that Marvel is making nowadays. Worth watching.

Shazam! theatrical poster.jpg



The Lobster by William
January 29, 2019, 1:51 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Colin Farrell is overweight and living in an absurdist dystopia. Maybe this movie is good if you like people being weird and saying absurd things, but for me it was Unwatchable.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Lobster

The Lobster (2015) poster.jpg



The Call (2013) by jaemskeray
December 29, 2018, 6:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

This movie is dumb and bad.  The story follows the abduction of a 15 year old suburban white girl from the parking lot of a strip mall, and I feel like it as written by a 15 year old who was imagining what that experience would have been like.  Halie Berry is the 911 operator taking… the call, wait… thats the name of the movie… deep…  The characters lack any depth or backstory and it feels like that was intentionally done to make it like Speed or something similar.  Which means the entire thing rests on the actor’s performances which were pretty bad.   The abductor’s backstory is sloppily thrown together and stigmatizes the mentally ill.  Halie Berry’s character is particularly drawn to saving this 15 year old girl, and that drive is honestly never really explained, so it just seems fake and overacted.  The violence is gratuitous and unnecessary.  The ending is… horrible; they have an opportunity to bring an abductor to justice but instead they leave him tied up in his torture chamber?  What about all the other people he tortured?  Wouldn’t they like to see him brought to justice?  Shame Halie Berry.  Its a bad bad terrible stupid dumb movie thats bad.  Don’t watch it, in fact figure out the director and never watch any of his or her movies.

p9681572_v_v8_ac



Holmes & Watson (2018) by jaemskeray
December 29, 2018, 4:45 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Honestly, did you really expect the movie that I would be reviewing on this site after not having reviewed anything in over a year would be this movie?  Probably not.  I mean, it’s almost like not worth a review, its just another Will Ferrell / John C. Riley buddy comedy.  You already know what its gonna be like before you actually watch it.  But in this day and age, I really need a movie like this, something to numb out to for an hour and a half and laugh.  Not particularly bad, but not particularly good, but I still really enjoyed myself while watching it.  A few good laughs, but not really any memorable moments, although John C. Riley’s baby crush on the Queens pretty funny.  The one thing I will say about this, and I wont turn this into a diatribe in a 1 minute review site, is that the female love interests were too young for these two fellas.   And that stuck in my mind, I kinda couldn’t get over it.  It’s pretty innocuous because it is a pretty goofy buddy comedy and the love story lines are pretty non-existent (probably by design), but come on, just get an age appropriate actress.  Did the Me Too movement mean nothing?  Anyway, not a particularly good movie, but I’d still give it a Watchable

p15101946_p_v8_aa



Pet Semetary (1989) by Thomas
November 12, 2018, 11:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

In this classic schlock fest, a doctor (who looks and acts like he’s from a soap opera) must decide whether to use an ancient Indian burial ground to resurrect his pet/family/family pet. I watched this during the tail end of scary movie season and despite the terrible acting, it’s firmly lodged in my head now. Possibly because of the catchy end credits theme tune by The Ramones? Look out for a cameo by King himself, who also adapted the screenplay from his own novel. (That’s commitment.)  Oh yeah and the amazing campy performance of the great Fred Gwynne. Watchable Plus!



Lady Bird by William
March 3, 2018, 10:17 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

In 2002-03, Lady Bird spends her senior year of high school fighting with her family and trying to figure out how to become an adult. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen a movie this good. Worth watching (plus).

Lady Bird poster.jpeg




%d bloggers like this: