Pinhole Movie Reviews


Skyfall by tincolor
December 3, 2012, 3:21 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

Apparently Thomas, Bill and I saw different movies, because the Skyfall I saw was exciting, mostly well acted and expertly filmed. That said, I had this nagging suspicion that as a one-off movie detached from all the Bond history and hype, there were major problems. The jokes, the antique gadgets, the Komodo dragons, they all rely on the larger 007 context. Still as a bond movie, I have to say this is way better than I could have ever hoped for. Worth watching.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Meh. As I said in my review, I didn’t actually think there were any problems with the movie, I just found Bond unsympathetic and in watching it I came to the conclusion that I don’t like James Bond movies.

Since I’m writing on this again, I will complain about one thing: they claim to do a lot of stuff in this movie without actually doing it or explaining how they are doing it. Like at the end when they are like “We need to make a trail just complicated enough that our enemy guy can track us, but not so easy that he suspects it’s a trap.” [cut to next scene] “Well, glad we finished that!”

There’s a lot of stuff like that. Javier Bardem’s scheme to break out and make some kind of attack as if he’d be planning it all along. It’s like logically impossible that he was planning it all along!

Maybe I’m constantly making this point about action movies that aren’t Mission: Impossible, the TV show, but I think you have a much better story if you just cut down the plot to one sort of elaborate plan, and let the audience actually see how that plan gets developed and carried out. Otherwise it’s just a bunch of random stuff happening for no reason.

Comment by William

Yes, I think “random stuff happening for no reason” is a good summary of why this movie seemed long and boring despite the fact that stuff was happening constantly. Anyway, it’s not the worst Bond movie by any means!

Comment by Thomas




Leave a Reply

